LibraryThing

My husband recently pointed out that I could be using my blog as a way to keep track of different projects that I am always talking about starting and sometimes (not always) seeing through. Yep, seems like a good idea. So here is hopefully the first of a few posts about different projects / inspirations / etc. that I might be obsessing about, however fleetingly.

LibraryThing homepage screenshot
LibraryThing homepage screenshot

First up, LibraryThing. I love using LibraryThing to keep track of my personal books. I’m also using it for the first time as a (sort of) social engagement. Really I’m just interested in keeping track of the books I read in some sort of organized way. I found the 75 Books Challenge on LibraryThing to be a great fit. I don’t know if I’ll make it to 75 books, I tend to read slowly and usually long, dense, non-fiction books that I don’t get through most of the time, but I’ll give it a go. Actually being a part of something called 75 Books Challenge makes me want to read books in a more linear way instead of dipping in and out of books like I’m used to when doing research. I’ve also been trying to chose books that I will actually finish.  Another reason I wanted to keep track of my reading is that I’ve been reading mostly on my commute to work and mostly books on my iPad, so even after I finish a book, I’m lacking the physical reminder that I read it. I find reading the books on my iPad is much easier too – I have no idea of how thick the book is when I start, and I’ll just keep reading it until it’s done.

So far I’ve read 8 books  – I think I’m pretty behind in the challenge. My plan is to read only graphic novels in November and December to make up for this slow reading.

  1. Walkable City: How Downtown Can Save America, One Step at a Time by Jeff Speck
  2. Louise Lawler (October Files)
  3. The Machine in the Garden: Technology and the Pastoral Ideal in America by Leo Marx
  4.  In Small Things Forgotten: An Archaeology of Early American Life by James Deetz
  5.  The Claims of Kinfolk: African American Property and Community in the Nineteenth-Century South by Dylan C. Penningroth
  6. Charm City: A Walk Through Baltimore by Madison Smartt Bell
  7. The Baltimore Atrocities by John Dermot Woods
  8. Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d’Art by Christopher Moore

I’m hoping to read The Big Archive: Art from Bureaucracy by Sven Spieker next, but it might be challenging as it is a hardback book. So that’s something that I’m doing. Wish me luck.

Recent books purchased from the MIT Press including The Big Archive: Art from Bureaucracy; The Culture of the Copy; and WACK!: Art and the Feminist Revolution.
Recent books purchased from the MIT Press including The Big Archive: Art from Bureaucracy; The Culture of the Copy; and WACK!: Art and the Feminist Revolution.
One thought on “LibraryThing

Leave a Reply

